City Government

Tacoma operates under the council-manager form of government, with an elected mayor and eight elected council members. Our City Council meets every Tuesday at 5 p.m. in the City Council Chambers, on the first floor of the Tacoma Municipal Building, 747 Market Street, Tacoma, WA

The City maintains a fantastic website





City offices are open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday
Mail for the City of Tacoma can be sent to:
City of Tacoma, 747 Market St., Tacoma, WA 98402
General Information: (253) 591-5000
8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday – Friday

Tacoma Public Utilities:
The City operates its own utility Company, Tacoma Public Utilities, with Tacoma Power, Tacoma Water, & Tacoma Rail.

  • Is one of the oldest and largest municipally owned utilities in the country
  • Provides reliable, high-quality, innovative, competitively priced utility services to customers in Tacoma, neighboring cities and in Pierce County


Online bill-paying and customer information services at



Mailing Address: P.O. Box 11007, Tacoma, WA 98411
Business Address: 3628 S. 35th Street, Tacoma, WA 98409 (South 35th Street and Union Avenue).


About Tacoma

Welcome to Tacoma, Washington, also known as the City of Destiny. Nestled on the shores of Commencement Bay, Tacoma is a mid-size city with a bustling port and business community, an exciting gateway to the Pacific Rim and the world. read more...

Latest News

Newsletter Subscribe

If you did like to stay updated with all our latest news please enter your e-mail address here