Historic Ford Mustangs and BMWs Honored Annual Pacific Northwest Concours d’Elegance

TACOMA, Wash. – More than 150 of the finest vintage automobiles in the U.S. converged upon LeMay – America’s Car Museum (ACM) September 6th and 7th for the annual Pacific Northwest Concours d ’Elegance.

“The Pacific Northwest Concours has become one of premier events of its kind in the U.S. since its founding 12 years ago as the Kirkland Concours,” said David Madeira, president of ACM. “With ACM being the largest car museum in North America, sitting on a 3.5-acre show field, we’re delighted to host an event of such grand scale.”

Featured classes for the concours included early and significant BMWs and Ford Mustangs as well as flathead hot rods, “American tail fins,” pre-WWII classics, pre-1920 Brass Era cars and others. After judges scrutinized rows of cars on ACM’s Haub Family Show Field, a 1928 Isotta Fraschini Tipo SASS owned by Peter Boyle of Covington, Ohio, emerged as “Best of Show.”

“This Isotta is among the best of its breed,” said Madeira. “Given the stiff competition, we recognize how well-earned this award is.”

During the weekend, ACM presented its annual “Master Collector Award” on Peter Hageman, Al McEwan and Glenn Mounger – all renowned members of the international vintage vehicle collector community. In conjunction with the award, the Museum opened a year-long exhibit in their honor featuring vehicles from their collections including a 1926 Packard Model 236 Phaeton, 1930 Hispano Suiza H6C d’Ieteren Freres Transformable and 1932 Packard 903 Super Eight, formerly owned by famous Navy aviator Rear Adm. Richard Byrd.

“Each of these Master Collectors has made major contributions to the collector community through their involvements with the Pebble Beach Concours d‘Elegance, the Classic Car Club of America and countless other automotive events and organizations. They have also provided great service to the Museum helping us create the largest private auto museum in the country and major tourist destination in the Pacific Northwest,” said Madeira. “It is with their counsel, advocacy and support that ACM has become more than just a car museum; it’s a cultural hotspot.”

The concours also featured a 100-mile “Tour d’Jour” around Puget Sound’s scenic back country. During Saturday evening’s sold-out Dinner d‘Elegance, ACM hosted a charity auction with a 2015 BMW i3, a new electric car donated by Supporting Sponsor BMW Northwest, as its centerpiece.

“America’s Car Museum works very hard to preserve the history of the automobile industry and embrace its future and we are proud to participate by providing the all-electric BMW i3 for auction at this event,” said Manfred Scharmach, CEO and president, BMW Northwest.

The auction raised funds for the Museum’s Hagerty Education Program which provides scholarships and grants to young people pursuing an education in collector car restoration. The Concours weekend raised $227,446, and its net proceeds will support the Hagerty Education Program at the Museum.

Said Chris Heman, market president of U.S. Bank – Washington State, the Concour’s Presenting Sponsor. “It is an honor for U.S. Bank to be a partner and to share in the outstanding work that makes our communities grow and thrive.”

The full list of class winners is as follows:

Shelby Mustangs 1965-1970 (Presented by RM Auctions)
First – Gary McKay – 1967 Shelby Mustang GT500 Fastback
Second – Mark Gucker – 1966 Shelby Mustang GT350 H
Third – Marv Heath – 1969 Shelby Mustang GT500 Convertible

Ford Mustang 1964-1973 (Presented by Lakewood Ford)
First – Bob Bornemeier – 1970 Ford Mustang Boss 302 Fastback
Second – Bob Lenstra – 1971 Ford Mustang 429 SCJ Fastback
Third – Eddie Hill – 1970 Ford Mustang 351C Fastback

Vintage BMW Motorcycles
First – Eric Olson – 1963 R-69S
Second – Gary Lewis – 1928 R-57 OHV 500cc Twin
Third – Gary Lewis – 1970 R-75/5

Muscle Cars 1964-1972 (Presented by Emerald Queen Casino)
First – Greg Prince – 1970 Ford Torino
Second – Bob Lenstra – 1969 Ford Torino 428 SCJ
Third – Jim & Laura Scharf – 1967 Chevrolet Camaro Super Sport

Modified Flathead Hot Rods
First – Tom Beffa – 1932 Ford Roadster
Second – Doug Grande – 1930 Ford Roadster
Third – Marv Shetler – 1932 Ford 5-Window Coupe

European Body / American (Presented by Power Bill & Ann Hart)
First – Bruce Wanta – 1967 Ghia 450SS
Second – Doug Meyer – 1976 Jensen Interceptor Coupe
Third – Brooks & Jamie Laudin – 1966 Shelby Cobra CSX 3158

BMW Early and Significant (Presented by Puget Sound BMW Dealers)
First – Karra Canum – 1958 BMW 503 Cabriolet, Series II
Second – Corry & Greg McFarland – 1959 BMW 507 Roadster
Third – Peter & Jennifer Gleeson 1979 BMW M1 Pro-Car

Antiques – Pre-1920
First – Fountain Head Museum – 1917 Owen Magnetic Touring
Second – Harold Peters – 1909 Isotta Fraschini FENC Tipo
Third – George Wingard – 1914 Mercedes Grand Prix

American Tail Fins
First – Joel Holland – 1960 Imperial Crown Convertible
Second – James Peterson – 1957 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz
Third – Mario Pipkin – 1960 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz

Collector Cars
First – Bruce Wanta – 1970 Ford Mustang Boss 429
Second – Bruce Wanta – 1967 Chevrolet Camaro Pace Car
Third – Bruce Wanta – 1973 Maserati Bora

Special Display
First – Bud Wolfe – 1960 Edsel Roadster
Second – Gary McKay – 1957 Ford Custom
Third – James Smalley – 1955 Austin-Healey

CCCA Classics Early Classic Car Club of America Pacific Northwest Region
First – Peter Boyle – 1928 Isotta Fraschini Tipo SASS, Custom LeBaron
Second – Aaron Weiss – 1933 Packard 12, Coupe Roadster
Third – Judie Hansen – 1927 Cadillac 7-Passenger Touring

CCCA Classics Late Classic Car Club of America Pacific Northwest Region
First – Peter Boyle – 1938 Steyr 220 Roadster
Second – John & Leslie Milliken – 1939 Buick Roadmaster Convertible Sedan
Third – Ron Danz – 1937 Cord 812 Phaeton

“This Car Matters” Award HVA – Historic Vehicle Association: Mark Hovander – 1965 Ford Shelby Mustang GT350 5S003

FIVA Preservation Award HVA – Historic Vehicle Association: Ronald Smith – 1969 Dodge Daytona

Best Presentation Award: Nelson Chuck – 1907 Peugeot 92D Labourdette Victoria

Junior Judges Award Porche Club of America Pacific Northwest Region: Alan Granberg – 1969 DeTomaso Mangusta

The Richard Hooper Award: Jerry Greenfield

Peoples’ Choice Award (Presented by US Bank): Jim & Jan Sullivan – 1948 MG TC

Participants’ Choice (Presented by Award Hagerty Insurance): Ron & Julie Printz – 1966 Shelby Mustang GT350 Hertz

Most Elegant Award (Open): Peter Boyle – 1938 Steyr 220 Roadster

Most Elegant Award (Closed) (Presented by Eric & Barbara Mann): James Raisbeck – 1953 Chrysler Ghia Coupe

Chairman’s Award: Peter & Jennifer Gleeson – 1979 BMW M1 Pro-Car

Founder’s Award: George Wingard – 1914 Mercedes Grand Prix

Ascent Best of Show Award (Presented by U.S. Bank’s Ascent Private Capital Management)
Peter Boyle – 1928 Isotta Fraschini Tipo SASS, Custom LeBaron

About LeMay – America’s Car Museum (www.lemaymuseum.org)
LeMay – America’s Car Museum, which opened in June 2012 in Tacoma, Wash., explores how the automobile has fulfilled a distinctive role at the core of the American experience and shaped our society. The four-level, 165,000 sq. ft. museum with rotating exhibits is designed to be the centerpiece for automotive history as well as an educational center and library. The campus, offering a majestic view above the Foss Waterway, is located adjacent to the Tacoma Dome and contains a 3.5-acre show field, theatre, café, banquet hall and meeting facilities. For information on Museum hours, becoming an ACM member, volunteer opportunities or to make a donation, visit www.lemaymuseum.org.

ACM – Ashley Bice (253) 683-3954 (ashley.bice@lemaymuseum.org)
PCG – Jacob Brown (424) 903-3676 (jbrown@pacificcommunicationsgroup.com)